The Music That Inspired “Empty”

Experience the music that kept my head in the properly disturbing sci-fi space

I’ve talked extensively about where the inspiration for horror comes from in the past, and a huge part of any story I craft is the music that drives the writing sessions. “Empty” is no exception.

This sci-fi/horror tale about a down on his luck engineer named Hansen was fueled both by personal experiences and by a steady stream of killer music that more of the world needs to know about.

These are the songs that not only played constantly during my writing sessions, but that work very well as a soundtrack to the book. You can actually listen to them all at this playlist.

With a story dealing with isolation and the sense of being separated from the herd, I’m hoping metal fans in particular will identify with “Empty.”

augury

 “Oversee The Rebirth” – Augury

Man, we are so overdue for a new album from this Canadian technical/progressive death metal band. The “Fragmentary Evidence” album is all about various conspiracy theories, and this track always makes me think of floating out in space for for the opening two minutes and then something really bad happens when the heavy part with the harsh vocals arrives around 2:40. The sudden (and shocking) change of pace into unexpected violence is something I tried to nail in a certain segment of my book as well.

anathema“Distant Satellites” – Anathema

The only track on this playlist that isn’t strictly “metal,” Anathema nonetheless has strong roots in the metal scene, and this title track in particular really creates the feeling of being alone out in the darkness of the stars. This one’s a lot more low key and atmospheric, the perfect accompaniment to the downtime segments when things aren’t going horribly wrong for Hansen.

Keep on reading!

New Horror Stories You Should Be Reading This Year!

2016 is already filled to the brim with high quality terror!

chil

Looking for something chilling to read alone in the dead of night? There’s already been some truly horrifying novels, shorts, and anthologies released this year that are well worth your time – and it’s only September! Plenty more are coming down the pipe by year’s end.

While you might recognize a name or two on this list, don’t expect anything by the likes of Stephen King or Clive Barker to be covered. Instead, these tales of terror mostly come authors that don’t get a ton of press but still have some very diabolical minds and are putting out stellar horror literature.

You can read the full breakdown, complete with cover art, buy links, and review quotes, at Imgur here. A brief list version is also available below.

  • Children Of The Dark
  • Mayan Blue
  • The Invasion
  • Empty
  • Disappearance At Devil’s Rock
  • The Grieving Stones
  • The Hatching
  • Gutted
  • Walk Hand In Hand Into Extinction
  • The Binding
  • Every Heart A Doorway

What new horror stories are out this year that YOU recommend I should put on my reading list?

 

The Scary Reviews covers space adventure “Empty”

Classic space elements meet unexpected and horrific danger

scary

The Scary Reviews is exactly what it sounds like – a repository of book assessments running the gamut of the entire horror spectrum: sci-fi, post-apocalyptic, speculative, fantasy, and more.

Reviewer David Spell recently uploaded his thoughts on my sci-fi / horror mashup novella “Empty,” having this to say about the tale:

Ty Arthur has an excellent way of writing and filling our heads with all the sci-fi elements of a classic space adventure. From the technology to the dangers of space travel and exploration. You feel the desperate feelings quickly as Hansen scrambles for safety. As he learns what the mystery organism is his desperation rises. When he figures out the organism’s plans for the crew of the Penrose it’s game over. While Empty is very short and a quick read it has a great beginning, build up and ending that left me wanting more.

For the full review and to find plenty more scary stories worth reading, head over to The Scary Reviews site here.

Big Sky State Buzz dissects “Empty”

Action-packed space drama to inspire other writers

BSSBuzz-LOGO_square-for-facebook1-e1442786905505

My fellow Montanan Jake Sorich from Big Sky State Buzz recently posted a lengthy and in-depth analysis of “Empty,” dissecting the characters, writing style, and pacing.

This is easily the most comprehensive break down of my novella that’s available anywhere on the web at the moment. While nearly every aspect of the story is covered, what was the final verdict? Sorich writes:

What this book does well, real well, in fact, is moving the plot along and making the characters move in ways that make you feel like you’re reading an action movie. It’s a skill in which I wish I could bring more to my own writing and have to tip my cap to Mr. Arthur for doing well.

Want to read the full review and find out what else Big Sky State Buzz liked and didn’t like about the story? Its available right here.

Where does horror inspiration come from?

Extreme metal, personal loss, and the night sky: a look at what makes horror authors tick

wtf2013banner
Following my guest post at the Autumns Eyes website exploring the current state of horror, I had the chance to also discuss where inspiration comes from for terrifying tales over at Wag The Fox.

Titled “Extreme Metal and the Moon,” this article examines where those dark thoughts come from and how they transform from rough concept to final execution as a book is being written. An excerpt follows:

When I first started writing fiction, I spent a lot of time wondering how the creative process worked for the genre greats. What inspired Barker’s unique vision in “The Hellbound Heart?” What experiences spurred on the fantasy-meets-terror of “Weaveworld?” Where did that wellspring of ideas for the weird cosmic horror of Machen and Lovecraft truly come from?

I suspect the answer would change drastically from author to author, and what’s true for one would be false for another. A personal answer to that question eluded me as I tried, and failed, to draw the attention of a publisher for any of my work.

It wasn’t until something outside my control well and truly rocked my whole world that I was able to find my voice
You can read the whole post at the Wag The Fox blog right here, where many other author interviews can also be found discussing the ins and outs of the horror industry!

“Stone Work” author Dominic Stabile discusses “Empty”

Noire author says the novella will fit right in for fans of Alien and Dead Space

stone

Dominic Stabile, author of the post-apocalyptic and ultra-noire novel “Stone Work,” was kind enough to read my sci-fi tale “Empty” and share his thoughts. Here’s a section of what he had to say after finishing a read through of the novella:

Clocking in at seventy-seven pages, Arthur manages to create a world worthy of seven hundred… If you’re a fan of Alien or the Dead Space video games, you will probably enjoy this book. But one of the things I truly enjoyed most about it was Ty’s prose. He manages to combine elegance with bluntness, and insight with action in a way that keeps you thinking about the story even after you have stepped away from it.

Check out the full review at his author website here. Looking for some excellent new fiction to read? You can pick up his book – described as a mix of Blade Runner and Sin City – through Amazon.com.

Confessions Of A Reviewer praises “Empty”

5 / 5 stars for the skin crawling silence of my sci-fi horror novella

Conressions

A perfect 5 /5 star rating has just gone up through fiction reviewing mecca Confessions Of A Reviewer! Here’s an excerpt from what literary critic Nev Murray had to say:

The way Ty Arthur has written this story, that lonely feeling is at the fore all of the time. It feels almost, well, Empty! Hansen is alone in everything he does. Even when he is called upon to do important work, he is still alone. Even when he is involved with others, he is still alone. When he is in deep despair and panic towards the end of the story, he is alone.

When you read this, you will start to feel alone. You will feel the emptiness. You will feel the constant quiet. No noise. Nothing. It starts to make your skin crawl. It starts to make you look around you to make sure nothing is behind you. When you cough, the sound of your own voice will scare you.

The atmosphere that is portrayed in this story genuinely scared the wee out of me. I felt very alone and very in need of a hug when I finished this story. I was cold and scared.

Bravo Mr Arthur. Bravo.
Thanks for the kind words! You can read the full review right here. For anyone on the lookout for new weird, dark, or scary fiction, I highly recommend checking out the latest reviews there.